Team Northern Ireland Player Profile #2 – John

It’s time for the second of our player profiles, with John! John is a proper doctor, not a fake doctor like certain other contributors to this blog, he’s got indecipherable handwriting and everything! He leads with a reference to soccer, which shows you that despite his vaunted profession he is still in touch with the common man. What a gent.

We’re not Brazil, we’re Northern Ireland

Adam Fox may have the looks but I am the brains of the operation. With Northern Ireland seen by so many as a definite contender at the WTC there has been fierce speculation over our lists all over the Web. I’ve been asked to put some thoughts together on list selection. I will be playing Khador at the WTC which may come as a surprise to some (It won’t, I’ve played Khador exclusively for over 3 years).

So what casters will you be using, I hear you ask. I have settled on Butcher 3 and Old Witch. This pairing was finalised quite early on in proceedings although both lists have changed quite significantly over time.

Butcher 3 -4
Beast-09 +11
Ogrun Bokur +3 (cliented to Butcher)
Kell Bailoch +2
Reinholdt +1
Fenris +5
Eiryss 2 +3
Madelyn Corbeau +2
Kayazy Assassins (max) +8
Kayazy Assassin Underboss +2
Kayazy Eliminators +3
Widowmakers +4
Greylord Ternion +4
Great Bears +5

The Old Witch -3
Sylys Wyshnalyrr +2
Behemoth +13
Jozef Grigorovich +2
Gorman di Wulfe +2
Harlan Versh +2
Winter Guard Infantry (max) +6
Winter Guard Infantry UA +2
Greylord Outriders (min) +6
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt +4
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters (max) +10
Widowmakers +4

Butcher was my first caster in Warmachine and he will always hold a soft spot in my heart. I was like a giddy schoolgirl at a Take That concert when Butcher 3 was revealed. Orsus is not the subtlest of tools and many people are very aware of what he does and I expect many teams will have a specific list to deal with him. The list has been in development from before the Irish Masters back in March 2014 and has had multiple incarnations. I initially had doom reavers in the list but found they got shot up before they were able to engage so they quickly made way. I have found the Kayazy assassins to be great at jamming as DEF16 when engaged makes them pretty tough to hit and I’ll be honest I struggled to get Iron Fang Pikemen to gel in the list and they didn’t fit with how I wanted the list to play.

The Old Witch list is the culmination of several years work in developing an anti-Cryx list. There is a shortage of Cryx players in the Northern Irish Meta and I was finding that I was having a tough time when I came up against Cryx in some of the larger events. I have tried to squeeze as many sprays as I could into the list and the plan is fairly simple; spray, feat, spray! I originally had the Winter Guard rifle corp in the list but found they competed with the Winter Guard infantry for the attentions of Kovnik Joe. They were substituted out for Cylenna and the Nyss and I have found the list to function much better since I made the switch. Although the list was designed with Cryx in mind it plays well into most forms of infantry spam.

Now I’m not saying we’re going to win the WTC but we probably will…

Leave a Reply

