New England Team Tournament Report Pt. 1

This past weekend I played in the New England Team Tournament at Captain Con and went 4-1 over the course of the day with my team, Dark Omen 2, finished fifth out of 24 with a 3-2 record. My team was Shane York playing Khador with Sorscha2 and Vlad1 and Matt K rocking his Convergence with Mother and Father. It was an absolute blast even if playing 5 rounds in one day made me a zombie. I thought I’d do a bit of a write up about my games hitting on the highlights. These won’t be comprehensive but hopefully they’re interesting and apologies to my opponents if I forgot your name or something relevant from our game. I was pretty jet lagged and tired for a lot of the event. Plus my memory for names is just appalling. In summary: I’m the worst and here are some battle reports.

My two lists were:

Calandra Truthsayer, Oracle of the Glimmerwood (*5pts)
* Storm Troll (5pts)
* Troll Impaler (5pts)
* Dire Troll Bomber (10pts)
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters (Cylena and 9 Grunts) (10pts)
Krielstone Bearer and 3 Stone Scribes (3pts)
* Krielstone Stone Scribe Elder (1pts)
Pyg Burrowers (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath (9pts)
Fell Caller Hero (3pts)
Gatorman Witch Doctor (3pts)

Grissel Bloodsong, Marshal of the Kriels (*6pts)
* Troll Axer (6pts)
* Mulg the Ancient (12pts)
* Trollkin Runebearer (2pts)
Krielstone Bearer and 5 Stone Scribes (4pts)
* Krielstone Stone Scribe Elder (1pts)
Trollkin Champions (Leader and 2 Grunts) (6pts)
Trollkin Champions (Leader and 2 Grunts) (6pts)
Trollkin Warders (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Trollkin Warders (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Fell Caller Hero (3pts)

The Calandra list is basically the same as what I talked about in a previous It’s in the Blood but with the KSB and Storm troll instead of Scattergunners and the Runebearer. I felt I needed the Stone to answer Incorporeal in the Cryx match and it’s just always a useful thing to have. The Storm Troll is there to fix some of the infantry clearing I lost by dropping the Scatters plus his gun adds to her assassination run. The second list is standard Grissel2 MMM but with two min units of Champs instead of full Champs and the Chronicler.

Round 1 vs the Fighting Mongeeses: I played Calandra vs. Carver played by a guy whose name escapes me.Sorry ’bout that man. His list had 3 units of Brigands, 2 Slaughterhousers, 2 War Hogs and a Razor Boar. My side of the table had a hill on my left, shallow water pretty central, and a forest on my right. He had a forest central to his side of the table. Scenario was Close Quarters. I won the roll to go first.

On my first turn I walked my Burrowers up to just outside his AD shooting range range, Cally but Bullet Dodger on Skarath, walked towards my flag and dumped Fury on the stone. Nyss ran up my left flank with Croc Doc making them tough. Skarath ran into the water, Dahlia cast Haunting Melody and followed. Everything else ran up behind my army. His Turn 1 he pushed forward very aggressively and got right in my face. On my turn two instead of burrowing I just charged his front line with Burrowers and killed a decent number. Nyss shot up some Brigands, beasts did more shooting. Calandra cast Star Crossed but couldn’t quite get to basing the flag due to poor positioning on my part. On his turn he killed a few of my infantry and pushed his heavies forward. My turn I Feated to put a bunch of damage on his to beasts but got greedy and didn’t focus fire one of them dead. I also killed more Brigands/Slaughterhousers and got base to base with the flag. On his turn he went for Calandra, who was camping 3, with a War Hog under Carver’s Feat. He managed to arrange for Calandra to be in Quagmire range but still had to kill a model to Overtake into Cally so he lost a Fury and an initial attack. He rolled some pretty good dice but came up short after my transfers. On my turn Carver was 10 inches away from Calandra and in LOS so one Force Blow, two Bombs and a Slug Gun later he was dead.

Things Calandra did not want #1: a War Hog to the face.

My opponent was pretty new to the game, this was his first tournament, so it was always going to be hard for him. Still he arranged a really solid shot at Calandra that I should have done more to try and stop. I forgot about Carver’s Feat granting Overtake and nearly paid for it with the game. He made good use of Quagmire throughout the game which hurt my DEF skew element quite a bit. I think he ran slightly too far forward and let me get a few too many charges but he played a really good game overall.

Dark Omen 2 took a 3-0 sweep of this round which was a great start to the event.

Round 2 vs. Team Taker ‘Er South: Meat Mountain vs. Butcher3 played by Timothy Grant who coincidentally had driven me from the airport to the con. His team used its Team Feat to swap me out of this match up and into a Kreuger2/Morvahna2 pairing on Fire Support. We counter-Feated to stop that because no way was I playing Krueger2 on a live scenario with a slow list. Runebreaker allows me to shut down Butcher3’s shenanigans and IFP are pretty bad at killing Warders so I liked this match up. The only really relevant bit of terrain on this table was a big wall right in the middle. Tim’s Butch3 list was 2x Juggernaut, Black Dragon IFP, Normal IFP, Alexia2, Corbeau, Eiryss2, IF Kovnik and Widowmakers

I deployed in my usual fashion, one of each Warders and Champs on the flanks with BG in the middle. Tim did much the same with Black Dragons on my left and normal IFP on my right and Juggies in the center. We ran at each other turn one as was the style at the time. This game was a long long grind so I’ll just outline the relevant bits. I swung hard on the right pushing towards his objective and moving my BG that way along the wall with Runebreaker up on Mulg. My plan was to take his objective and dominate the flag. Grissel and the Fell Caller were pretty awesome at clearing the normal IFP while the Warders just killed a couple of Black Dragons a turn and refused to die in exchange. I got a handful of Warders to his first Jugy and perfectly scalpel-ed out his Ice Axe which was crazy lucky and greatly reduced his retaliation. I eventually scrapped him over a few turns. I finally managed to clear the right flag and through a combination of Grissel’s gun and Warder shots blew the objective up. He had Butcher clear out my Warders and got his Juggy into Mulg and managed to kill him (Mulg was out of KSB as the Widowmakers had been plinking the stone to death all game) but ended his charge a single hair out of contesting range which was rough. A few IFP and Epic Alexia came in to contest. By this stage he’d wiped one unit of Warders, both Champs and 3 of the other 5 Warders but had only a handful of IFP, Widowmakers and all importantly Butcher3 left. With the Juggy out of contesting range all I had to do was kill Alexia and the IFP. I almost cocked it up by forgetting to activate Grissel2 first to knock her down with Quake which was dumb and meant I had to Rush the Axer and have him walk over to kill her himself. Grissel cleared the IFP with a few boosted Crescendo damage rolls I think. Had the Jugger been just in I could have tried for a slam with the Axer to push him slightly out of range but then my shot at Alexia2 is a lot dicier. It was a great close game with an awesome dude. He even shared his whiskey with me after the game.

Double juggernaut Butcher3 surprisingly legit it turns out.

Tim gave me one of, if not the, hardest games of the tournament. He attritioned really hard and succeeded at wiping out a ton of my units. I really could have played Mulg better in this game to try and deny Butcher3 even more relevance but with those Juggernauts it was tricky. Tim did good at killing off my Krielstone but put a few too many sniper shots into the Fell Caller over the KSB which I think hurt him a bit in the long run. In fairness he thought the Fell Caller was a 5 box solo so he thought he’d go down earlier than he did which was unfortunate. That Juggernaut coming up just short made me sweat bullets and if that had gone the other way I would have been in a much scarier place.

We got another 3-0 sweep this round although Matt conceded his game after the fact since he and his opponent made an error on scenario throughout the game and he had won a scenario victory.

That’s all for today’s report, tune in tomorrow for the exciting conclusion!

Leave a Reply

