The Scrutator Semper Chronicles 14

Chapter Two: The Brown Land

Part Four: Those Hooded Hordes Swarming

The Menites were beaten, but not defeated! Their first foray into the Darkfen was treacherously deflected by the trollkin led by Calandra Truthsayer. Now forewarned of the trollkin presence, High Executioner Servath Reznik leads a force of Cleansers and warjacks who intend to blow an important village to smithereens. However, when they arrive, they find the village deserted. An unwary warjack springs a trap, and suddenly the stone huts are swarming with pygmies armed with rifles, and the Menites realise they are surrounded.

The second game of The Brown Land campaign saw Reznik facing off against the Hunters Grim and their warband of ambushing, bombarding, bushwhacking banditos. Under the Halfaug campaign rules, the Thumper Crews lose their greatest weakness…their Light Artillery attribute. Now armed with two ranged slamming moveable weapons platforms, Stu was pretty well placed to bombard the crap out of me. Will the High Executioner triumph or run off with his enormous sword between his legs? Read on and find out!


Region: Base Camp (no wacky Halfaug shite this time…apart from the Thumper Crews)
Scenario: Two Fronts

LISTS
Stu:

Since the estimable Professor Matthew Lust gifted me two units of Scouts and two Thumper Cannons at around Christmas time I have been looking for an excuse to put them on the table. The League Rules making Thumpers lose Light Artillery plus my desire to play Grim2 some more really made this the ideal time to play Grim2’s Theme Force. The list features a bunch of models I’ve never or hardly ever play so it presented an interesting conundrum:

Hunters Grim (*4pts)
Headhunters Theme Force – Tier 4
* Slag Troll (6pts)
* Storm Troll (5pts)
* Troll Impaler (5pts)
* Dire Troll Bomber (10pts)
Pyg Bushwackers (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
Thumpercrew (Leader and 2 Crew) (2pts)
Thumpercrew (Leader and 2 Crew) (2pts)
Trollkin Scouts (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Trollkin Scouts (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Fell Caller Hero (3pts)
Fell Caller Hero (3pts)

Siskey:
I had learned my lesson from the last game and now I was bringing double Vanquishers to take care of the troops I was sure Stu would bring. I had a foreboding notion that the Grim2 theme force would be rearing its ugly head, but apart from knowing what it did I didn’t see many ways to mitigate it. Normally with this theme force I like 2 Reckoners and 2 Vanquishers, but since my other Reckoner had copped it in the first game I went with a Templar to enable some beatdown. The Cleansers are there to fuel the ‘jacks mostly, nobody would weep much for them if the Thumper Crews blew them all up. The hope here is to manoeuvre Reznik into position and do some assassination.

High Executioner Servath Reznik (*6pts)
Judgement of Fire Theme Force – Tier 4
* Reckoner (7pts)
* Vanquisher 1 (8pts)
* Templar (8pts)
* Vanquisher 2 (8pts)
* Devout (5pts)
* Hierophant (2pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Flameguard Cleansers (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Flameguard Cleansers (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Reclaimer (2pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)
Wrack (free)

DEPLOYMENT

Our pictures today provided from the Trollbloods perspective. There may have been some proxying on the Menite side…

A note on the terrain: We were playing in the Dark Horse, a pub that is good for pints but less good for terrain. We had a surplus of huts, so we fought over a village. The other terrain was a folded circular zone, which is a hill, and a quartered zone which is a forest. Everything else is as you see it!

Stu:
Most of my models either Ambush or Advance Deploy so I won the roll and decided to go first. Siskey took the side of the table with the walls leaving me with the Hill and Forest. The Hill was in my friendly zone so I decided my warbeasts should go there so I can sit on the hill and shoot into Siskey’s lines with impunity. One Thumper went to run into Siskey’s zone to be annoying while the Bushwhackers deployed as far up as they could go so they could shoot Siskey’s Advance Moving Cleansers. The Scouts stayed off the table with the plan to ambush them into Siskey’s zone and make it impossible for him to dominate it easily.

Siskey:
I had learned from a previous game against Trollbloods that with this list I want to keep my ‘jacks front and centre, ready to engage with whatever came into range. They spread out across the middle, with the Cleanser units in front to Advance Move before the game starts. I had Reznik lined up to sneak up behind a wall that was in the centre of my side of the table, in a nice position to supervise things. I spread out my Wracks, one to contest a zone, another to provide handy cover against the side of a building.

ROUND ONE
Stu:

Pretty standard Turn one here. Bushwhackers walk forward to shoot Cleansers since with the 2 extra inches of deployment from the theme they can reach his AD line. 2-man CRAs bring down two Cleansers. The Thumper Crew on my right runs into Siskey’s zone, the one on my left runs onto the hill. Fell Callers run into place to try and be able to reach the ambushing Scouts but I don’t position them far enough. Everybody else runs into position, warbeasts on the hill. Grim walks forward and puts Mirage on the Bushwhackers because I have no idea where Mirage should go in a list without Scattergunners. Grim also dumps one Fury so he can leach 4 next turn.

The Trollbloods swarm up, with the Thumper Crew taking a world-ending position on that hill.

Siskey:
Reznik allocates 1 focus to each of the Vanquishers, leaving him on 4 focus. The Reclaimer had gotten some souls from Stu’s potshots on the Cleansers, so he gave one out to the Reckoner. The Cleansers move up, and although Stu has already done the measurements for me with his Bushwhacker shots I try for a few flamethrower shots anyway. I manage to kill a Thumper Crew grunt with the lefthand Cleansers, and the righthand Cleansers place an Incinerate AOE on the right in the way of Stu’s advance. Meanwhile Reznik puts Iron Aggression on the Templar and moves up behind the wall. Everything else runs, including the Choir. This swiftly turns out to be not the greatest plan.

ROUND TWO
Stu:

I start with miraging my Bushwhackers mostly forward although some go sideways to make room for other models to move up. One unit of Scouts ambushes on my right but I decide to save the second unit since I have almost no idea what I’m doing and I have no idea if they’re better saved or used now so I went with both! Grim walks up and Feats, Muggs knocks down a Templar while Krump drops his Trap in Siskey’s zone. Grim shoots Vanquisher 2 (the one about to be charged by Scouts) and does 7 damage to its 2. He then puts Mirage on the Bomber and Reforms back. Bushwhackers go next, two walk forward to give Mark the Target for my army while the rest shoot Cleansers, killing 5. Thumper on my left shoots Vanquisher 1 knocking it down and doing 5 damage to it. Bomber and Slag then dump all their shots into Vanquisher 1 destroying and using exactly the maximum Fury Grim can leach next turn (5). Storm Troll shoots the Templar hoping for a decent number of bounces into nearby Cleansers but only gets one, kills the nearest Cleanser. Impaler misses his shot at a Cleanser since I’m not willing to risk Frenzy checks by boosting. Thumper on my right knocks down Vanquisher 2, the Scouts assault him and do about 10 damage with only two getting charge attacks.

Moving Templars is tricky! The Ambushing Scouts surround the Vanquisher on the righthand side.

Siskey:
Reznik spends the focus to stand up the Templar and gives 2 focus to the Reckoner. Vanquisher 2 is just a hair out of his control range, so no allocation or standing up over there. The Cleansers in front of the Templar moved out of its way, hoping to clear a charge lane but it seems like my skilfully-placed Wrack is blocking it. They shoot at the Impaler and set it on fire but do little else. The Choir sings Passage on the Reckoner and Templar, Vanquisher 2 is just that little bit too far away to help. Anyway the song is a turn too late, as evinced by all the shaking of Knockdown I’ve been doing. Those Thumper Crews are doing a lot of work! The lone wolf Vanquisher 2 stands up sacrificing its movement and Threshers, killing 1 of the Scouts surrounding it. The Reckoner moves up between the two zones and shoots at Krump hiding in the forest, boosting to hit and to damage. He kills the pygmy, leaving the Hunters Grim without their little trap gimmick. Over on my right, the Reclaimer Communes with the Templar, handing him 3 focus. Now it’s time for him to make his way up the table! He charges one of the Cleansers in the back, killing him and using Beat Back to move up the table (Ed – Beat Back only works on enemy models, Siskey is a filthy cheat). Eventually he lands in front of the Bomber, and does 8 damage to it. The Vassal meanwhile is left stranded, and since he is the last one I have for the rest of the campaign I decide that rather than risking him I will hide him in behind the hut on my right. And finally, in the kind of decisive and bold move I am renowned for, High Executioner Servath Reznik surges out from behind his safe wall to stand next to the objective, accomplishing…nothing at all. I’ve never played the Two Fronts scenario before so I am unaware that the objectives in the scenario do nothing. Stu points this out as soon as it happens, but rather than take the move back I accept it as a lesson learned and leave my warcaster on 2 focus within range of most of the ranged elements of Stu’s army. What doesn’t kill you…

ROUND THREE
Stu:

First things first I upkeep Mirage and Mirage the Bomber out of melee. Then I deploy my second unit of Scouts on the right flank behind the first unit. Siskey has left Reznik out blowing in the wind so I’d feel bad if I didn’t take this opportunity to kill him. Thumper on the right has a clear line to him, aims (because League means he’s not Light Artillery, let me tell you aiming Thumpers are legit!) and hits him pushing him out from behind the objective by an inch and doing two damage. Bushwhackers go next, two walk out of melee with the Templar but the Templar misses one and kills the other. They do a 7-man CRA onto Reznik and do 3 damage to him. Fell Caller walks forward to try and Spray Reznik but is out by miles. Storm Troll walks out of melee with Reznik, doesn’t take a free strike because Siskey wants his Templar to not be disrupted next turn if he survives, and is out of range on Reznik. Now that Templar is unengaged the left hand Thumper knocks him flat on his ass so that the Slag and Bomber can walk forward without entering his melee range. Slag walks forward and shoots Reznik twice, first shot no damage second shot does 8 with some hot dice. Grim moves up now and takes a shot on Reznik dealing him 5 damage and killing him.

Reznik is both brave AND foolish!

Siskey: Well that was over quickly! Probably for the best as we are playing in the pub on a summer’s day with the sun beating on the windows and we may dissolve into pools of sweat at any moment! Obviously I threw the game away at the end there, but on the bright side apart from a warjack and some disposable Cleansers I didn’t lose much in this game. I’m in a reasonable position for the next game, which Stu informs me will most likely be against Grissel2 and the Miserable Meat Mountain ™. Fun times!

LOSSES
Stu’s:

– 1 Thumper Crew grunt.
– 2 Bushwhackers
– Krump

Siskey
– Vanquisher 1.
– 5 Cleansers from each unit.

CAMPAIGN SCOREBOARD
Game 2 – Stu wins.
Stu – 10.0
Siskey – 0

Leave a Reply

