Irish Masters 2014 – Lists, Pre-games and Game 1.

This weekend was the Irish Masters, the biggest Warmachine event of the year on this little rainy island. 7 of us from Cork made the trip to Dublin (which takes longer to get to than Smogcon!), 2 Legion, 1 Cygnar, 1 Troll, 1 Circle, 1 Menoth and 1 Ret.

After coming back from Smogcon and opening up my case to find my mostly assembled Khador now almost completely unassembled, and with the upcoming WTC forcing me to focus on a faction, I brought my favourite with me, Legion. I was playing pVayl, eVayl and pLylyth (Yeah, yeah, I know).

I very cannily brought my camera with me, then forgot it in the hotel on Saturday. No pictures for me ūüė¶

List 1:

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight (*6pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Ravagore (10pts)
* Scythean (9pts)
* Seraph (8pts)
* Typhon (12pts)
Blighted Nyss Raptors (Leader and 4 Grunts) (10pts)
1 Spell Martyr (1pts)
The Forsaken (2pts)
The Forsaken (2pts)

“The” pVayl list as far as most people see it. I’ve played with it a lot, and I’ll be doing some tinkering over the next few months, but it’s great fun to play, pVayl is a great caster and there’s a reason it’s basically been unchanged for years. I’m going to sensually slip in a certain tentacle monster for some practice games to give him a run out, as I think he could have some game, but as I only have his face and no body for him, he got left behind.

List 2:

Vayl, Consul of Everblight (*6pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
Blighted Nyss Legionnaires (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
* Captain Farilor & Standard (3pts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)

This is the eVayl list I’ve been playing for a while. I’ve tried Hex Hunters instead of the Legionnaires and I’ve tried a Scythean with 2 Angelius’. I really prefer this list, the Legionnaires are just great at holding down a zone once you get them to engage with Iron Zeal and almost always do more work than their cost, because of Vengeance. Mage Static helps them get there and Farilor is a solid combat solo in his own right. The Battlegroup terrorises people, combining Refuge and Admonition to take a lot and give a little.

List 3:

Lylyth, Herald of Everblight (*6pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Ravagore (10pts)
* Ravagore (10pts)
Blackfrost Shard (5pts)
Blighted Nyss Hex Hunters (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
Blighted Ogrun Warspears (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
* Warspear Chieftan (2pts)
Blighted Ogrun Warspears (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
* Warspear Chieftan (2pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)

I’ve been playing this list for a while as well, and I’ve taken it to a couple of smaller events and always found it to play fine, it hits very hard as you can apply multiple armour debuffs to targets and it’s hugely accurate.

Its biggest problem is that once it gets stuck in, nothing is particularly hard to remove and when stuff starts dying, you start feeling it as your volume of attacks drops very fast. The assassination threat on this list can’t be down played, 4d6+5 (+7 if aimed) Ravagores can drop a lot of casters, through defensive tech.

Pre-game Games:

As we’d arrived on Friday afternoon we decided to pop down to the local store to catch a couple of practice games, which was great because I was a little rusty with my Legion.

I ended up playing 3 in total, first taking on Rob, a fellow traveller from Cork, and his Kreoss 3 list. I was in a bit of trouble early as I lost an Angelius because it couldn’t roll a 6 to hit a Venger but I was able to attrition my way back into the game, forcing Kreoss to come forward. Once he did, a Harrier from the Pot, followed by an auto-hitting charge and a Sprint into range of Kreoss saw a double boosted Oblit assassination run knock him off his pony.

Game 2 was against Phil, another Corkian, seeing pLylyth against Mohsar. Turns out Druids really ruin my ability to apply Eruptions and Parasite where needed. It was a strange game, made miserable both by my increasing hangover and both of our lists inability to really do much. Eventually it finished with Mohsar making a ballsy move to clear a side, having to teleport to a bad spot, and taking some Ravagore blight in the face.

After this game we moved to the hall where the Masters proper would be held. After annoying Stusan, the TO, we set up and I ended up in a game vs the Nemesis, Pat. He dropped pHaley and I whipped out pVayl. It was a good game, losts of death either side. Pat’s dice let him down in the early game, which let my Raptors win against his Blazers. Eventually, it came down to some mistakes on my part leading to losing Typhon, when he probably could’ve lasted another turn (I forgot you could just walk away with Dark Sentinel, hurrdurr) and losing out on attrition. Eventually I went for a spell assassination run, before Pat used his last focus to Arcane Vortex my first nuke, because he’s mean. The Vayl got dwarves all over her.

Back to the Hotel for a couple of drinks and a Steak Sandwich, and then to bed, ready for the Masters!

Masters – Round 1:

Round 1 saw me drawn against Declan, from the Dublin/Maynooth crowd, so the pride of Cork was on the line here. He was playing Menoth and had eFeora and some other casters. He dropped eFeora, mainly I think because all my lists had Ravagores. I chose pVayl, because I wanted to be running some hit and run on his slow heavies. The Scenario is Outflank.

I win the roll off and choose a table side that has a Hill by the zone to my left, and a forest by my zone to my right. I give up a nice wall for the hill, but there’s a HUGE forest right on the edge of Declan’s deployment zone, completely central, that his ‘jacks will have to trudge through if they want to hold the middle. I plan to use this to my advantage to force him to deploy heavily to one zone, and use Vayl’s incite power and heavies to keep one clear.

True to my plan, he deploys the majority of his list (Errants, ‘jacks, Feora, Covenant, Support) into the zone to my right, and leaves the left one very lonely, putting Eiryss and an Allegiant of the Fist on that side.

I put my Seraph and Ravagore near the Left Zone, as they can deal with the models there and still effect the game in the other zone, with their range and slipstream for Vayl. Vayl goes opposite the hill. Typhon and the Scythean take the Right Zone, with the Raptors going by the forest.

Turn 1 – Menoth.

The game gets off to a flying start, the Errants run into the zone with the rest of the list running behind them. Eiryss and the Monk get towards the other zone. There’s a wall just by the zone to my right that he puts a lot of Errants behind, which is where Typhon will be gunning for on Feat Turn. There’s a lot of armour heading towards the zone to my right, so I’m planning on trading my Scythean for one of his heavies early, feating it back out and forcing one of them to charge into Typhon’s threat.

Turn 1 – Legion

My Raptors kill 5 Errants in the zone (my opponent showed some inexperience here and was self-sacrificing models to keep those in the zone alive, but had he just let them die, I would’ve been out of range after 2 shots) and I jockey for position, putting the Scythean and Typhon out of threat on the right zone, and slipstreaming, leashing the Ravagore into the left one. Vayl goes on the hill and camps a few incase of stray rockets.

Turn 2 – Menoth

The Errants fail to do much of import, the ‘jacks kill a Raptor between them. Eiryss runs to one side of the left zone and the drunken monk goes into his Shifting Stance in the far end. The Heavies put some shots into mine, but poor dice and Tenacity sees them come out relatively unharmed.

Turn 2 – Legion

The Raptors continue their reign of terror, nailing another 2 Errants and 2 members of the Choir before using their Light Cav moves to pop back into the forest. Vayl advances off the hill, feats and slipstreams the Scythean for 2″ of extra threat and he goes haring off through the zone and nails a Reckoner, picking off another Errant with his Chain Attack. Typhon goes forward and knocks the Errants down to 2 models + UA and Solo by spraying over the wall. The Monk’s shifting stance can’t save him from a boosted, aimed Ravagore shot to the face and the Seraph displays his dominance by rolling 4 shots and nailing Eiryss on the first. My feat goes off and everything backs off. I’m guaranteed to lose the Scythean this turn, but I’ll take his heavy in response and that puts me way up on the attrition game. Vayl goes back on the hill. Typhon goes back to the back end of the right zone. I score 1 point. I could’ve put Vayl in the zone and dominated, but I was concerned that I’d be open to a ranged assassination without the Elevation bonus.

Turn 3 – Menoth

Declan takes my Scythean with the remaining Errants and a Vanquisher, kills 2 Raptors with some shots and they pass command. He runs his third heavy into the Left zone but can only just toe in. After he activates and moves Feora, he’s out of control range, so I don’t have a lot to worry about on that side.

Turn 3 – Legion

My Ravagore gets Slipstreamed forward and slams the heavy out of the zone, rolling a 6 for distance and putting him into a wall. Unfortunately, the wall is about 3.9″ away, so he’ll be able to walk into the zone next turn. The Raptors kill more choir. Typhon cripples the Vanquisher but poor rolling sees it survive. Vayl walks into the left zone with tenacity and I score 2 more.

Turn 4 – Menoth

Declan needs to remove Typhon and 2 Raptors to get a point, but he’s only got Feora to do it with. She Fire Steps and charges Typhon but he facetanks her and lives through it. His ‘jack by the left zone walks back in. His other ‘jack in the right zone can’t hit Typhon as his cortex and melee weapon are out. He wants to walk around Typhon to hit my Shredder but the Shredder is too high Def for him too. Instead the robot just sulks.

Turn 4 – Legion

The Raptors charge and finish the Vanquisher in the right zone. Incite goes up and the Ravagore wrecks the ‘jack in the left zone. Typhon and the Shredder clear our the rest of the Errants before Typhon eats Feora in a couple of hits.

Final Score is 5-0 on Scenario, 45+ Army Points. A solid start to the day. My list and choice of sides meant the game played out exactly as I’d hoped, with Vayl able to control the threats in both zones while applying massive attrition pressure.

Other results:

Pat was on the table to my left and made an eLylyth player miserable. Maybe someone can explain to us why people think eLylyth is a good drop against eHaley because every time I see it I see the Legion player get neckstomped. I’m going to go more into this after the reports are done, but I can’t see how the Lylyth2 player doesn’t just instantly lose the game on Scenario vs a good Haley player.

Phil eventually won out over madman Gerry Nolan’s double Conquest/Black Ivan Harkevich tier list by forcing his way through. There’s some great photos out there of Phil looking frustrated while playing against Harkevich, Double Conquest, played by a guy wearing an alligator costume.

Rob, our Menoth player, had a contentious victory over Butcher3 on the table to my right due to misunderstanding (on both sides) over whether Butcher’s dogs contest. Important thing when going to a Masters is that you know all the relevant rules for your Caster. If someone asks and you answer incorrectly, that’s on you in the end.

Round 2 is drawn and I’m up against a visiting american, Brett. He’s come all the way from Dallas for the Masters (well, there was a Holiday in there too) but mainly for Warmachine. He’s got Circle and eMorvahna, I drop eVayl, as I’ve very little experience against the Goatqueen and eVayl is my blind drop.

Thanks for reading!

Pete.

Leave a Reply

