Learning Legion – Smogcon List Testing!

Greetings!

It has been another few weeks and I’ve been slacking. Rest assured the rest of the Moocon reports are in the works, I’m just trying to remember what actually happened in each of my games.

For now, I thought I’d try and gather some thoughts on 3-lists I’m going to be practicing over the next few months, with an eye to using them as my 3-list picks for Masters events going forward.

Without further ado, let’s get to it.

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight

Vayl1 + 6
– Typhon
– Ravagore
– Scythean
– Seraph
– Shredder
Raptors
Forsaken
Forsaken
Spell Martyr

Yuuuuuup. This is the pVayl list you see all the time, everywhere. Non-Legion players, take note, you will see this list played by multiple people at any large event.

It is so solid. It has everything you could want with a Typhon shaped cherry on top. I feel it really encapsulates what Legion are, fast, hard hitting and full of shenanigans.

Also, it’s really fun to play! It activates your brain powers in ways that lists often don’t, in that there’s no real autopilot for this list past your Turn 1 opening. You have a lot of options and a lot of ways to achieve your objective, how you do it is up to you and your opponent’s reaction.

Also Typhon + Incite wins games.

Can you blame me?

Faction: epic Vayl – Machinations of Shadow
Tiers: 4
Vayl, Consul of Everblight
– Angelius
– Angelius
– Angelius
– Ravagore
– Ravagore
Blighted Nyss Hex Hunters (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 5 Grunts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd
Blighted Nyss Shepherd
1 Spell Martyr 

So, we dojo’d this list yesterday during our daily Warmachine chitchat and Pat, he of the ALWAYS BEATING ME IN FINALS, stated: “That list terrifies me”. I resolved to put it on the table next time we play.

Then I read Hand Cannon it in turns out that Omnus is 2-3 days ahead of me. Clearly some sort of time-zone mind-thievery shenanigans going on here which I appreciate, Minions of Everblight should be on the same wavelength after all.

I’ve been finding in my eVayl games that the Legionnaires maybe earn back a point or two while filling the Pot, but a lot of the time it’s simple for my opponent to just clear 7 of them in a turn with low POW shooting, losing me out on gribbly bits for the Pot. Yes, they’re directing low pow shooting away from the rest of the list… which is 5 heavies.

In that vein, we wanted to try and find something that the opponent can’t ignore. Give him even more “no-win” scenarios that this list previously offered. Say to them: “If you ignore my Hex Hunters, they will chew you up all game. If you dedicate resources to my Hex Hunters (anti-stealth, high RAT resources at that), I’ll fill that pot while my Angelii have their way with you.”

Also, Hex Hunters are really cool as demonstrated by my Proxy Card.

BATTLE WIIIIZAAAAAAARD!

So my two lists are fairly standard, pVayl is a classic and eVayl is an all-star, her Theme Force being one of the most unfair of them all. So,  when thinking about my third list I first thought about being boring and reaching for Saeryn. She compliments these two really well and dominates certain matchups (Cryx). However, let it never be said that I am boring! Instead I decided I’d bring my favourite Warlock, 3Lylyth, and crank her assassination potential to the max, giving me a third drop against casters that I have no real idea what to do against, or for Killbox Scenarios against squishy squishies.

Clippity Cloppity.

This list is a work in progress.

Lylyth, Reckoning of Everblight
– Shredder
– Ravagore
– Ravagore
– Seraph
Blighted Nyss Raptors (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Blighted Nyss Striders (Leader and 5 Grunts)
* Blighted Nyss Striders Officer & Musician
Annyssa Ryvaal, Talon of Everblight
Blighted Nyss Shepherd
Blighted Nyss Shepherd
Strider Deathstalker
Succubus

This list is going through a fair number of changes. Without Typhon, I have to activate the assassination another way, which means maximising my threat with Ravagores and Lylyth, while maintaining board pressure to force my opponent forward.

Double Ravagore + Seraph gives me significant shooting presence from beasts, the Ravagores will threaten both soft and heavy targets alike from crazy range. They’ll also activate that feat. The Seraph is a cool beast, it extends everything’s threat range by 2″, including Lylyth, as she’s a Battle Engine.

Infantry/Cav choice is fairly simple, full Striders with the UA because they are awesome. Min-Raptors with Annyssa over Max Raptors, because I want those shots to hit on Feat Turn, missing one is bad, and she’s a really good gal.

So, those are my three lists! What am I worried about meeting?

  • eHaley – Of course. I’m starting to get better against her, but she’s still a bugbear.
  • Lucant – I pray to all that is Everblighty that the Corolooralrlrly is delayed until 3015 to reduce the chances of me seeing this guy across the table. He is everything that Legion hates. I have no answers to him yet beyond “curl up in a ball and wait for the kicking to stop”.
  • Pat – Plz no.
  • Cryx – I don’t get nearly enough practice vs Cryx, as our only Cryx player is not very active. Time to get on Vassal!

That’s all for now folks, feel free to comment with questions or thoughts!

– Pete.

Leave a Reply

