Learning Legion – NWG Battle Report 1

Hello hello hello!

As promised in my last piece, today will be the start of a write up of NWG, a recent 35-point Tournament held in a sleepy little town called Wicklow, about 20 minutes outside of a sleepy, slightly-bigger town, called Dublin.

The day of the drive started auspiciously. I returned home to be informed by my Flatmate that there was a package for me. Opening it, I discovered my “WWJVMD” bracelet from the Chain Attack kick starter had arrived. I immediately felt the hand of the Messiah upon me.

The tournament was a 4-round, 35 pointer. 1 List required, 2nd optional. I took the following lists:

List 1:

Machinations of Shadow
Tiers: 4

Vayl, Consul of Everblight (*6pts)
* Harrier (2pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
* Scythean (8pts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)

List 2:

Lylyth, Reckoning of Everblight (*5pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Scythean (9pts)
* Typhon (12pts)
Blighted Nyss Striders (Leader and 5 Grunts) (6pts)
* Blighted Nyss Striders Officer & Musician (3pts)
Strider Deathstalker (2pts)
Strider Deathstalker (2pts)
Succubus (2pts)
The Forsaken (2pts)

One “Take them all on” list with eVayl, another anti-infantry/janky list with 3Lylyth. The plan was to drop 3Lylyth the most, and teach people how totally sweet she is.

This report is going to be wordy as all hell, so let’s get to it! I’ll likely do 2 reports here, then the others later in the week.

Game 1 – Into the Breach
Opponent: Alan
Faction: Cygnar
List:

Lord Commander Stryker (*6pts)
* Ol’ Rowdy (9pts)
* Squire (2pts)
Storm Lances (Leader and 4 Grunts) (11pts)
Silverline Stormguard (Leader and 9 Grunts) (9pts)
Journeyman Warcaster (3pts)
Ragman (2pts)
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord (2pts)
Stormsmith Stormcaller (1pts)
Stormblade Captain (2pts)

His other list was Siege, which means I took eVayl. I think in hindsight 3Lylyth would’ve been fine, but with 2 beasts I was concerned about having to transfer the Feat Shot and potentially losing both beasts in a single turn.

STROIKAH!!! (He is clearly Australian)

Deployment:

I win the roll to go first (Rolling a 7 – booya!), and choose to do so. My opponent chooses his table edge with a building on my left, on his half of the table. There’s a wall next to the building, poking into the zone. On my right, on my half, there’s a hill that’s close enough to the flag that I can base both the hill and the flag at the same time.

I deploy in my standard line, eVayl between 2 Angelii, Ravagore opposite his Silverline, Scythean next to it. Pot goes next to that, the Shredder behind Vayl. A Shepherd goes next to the Ravagore and Shredder each. The harrier is deployed on the far left for maximum pointlessness.

He deploys with the Silverline spread out along his edge. Rowdy, Stryker and the Standard Cygnar Support Package (SCSP – Junior + Squire) along with his Merc solos go next to and behind them. The Storm Lances take a heavy flanking position to my left, same side as the zone. It’s a good choice, as the building will protect them from any shooting I can do, and they’re fast enough to give me flanking issues.

Turn 1:

Legion: Refuge on one Angelius, Admonition on the other, Tenacity on both, charge Rowdy and end up behind a wall. Angelii run their 18″ forward, Scythean follows behind. Ravagore waddles up and floats a speculative shot towards the Silverline, putting a nice Scather template just a few inches in front of them. The Harrier runs into the zone. Shredder puts tenacity on Vayl, just incase Styker turns out to be some sort of mystical Wizard who can teleport 400″.

CygnarArcane Shield goes on Rowdy, the Silverline run up, remaining in a line to prevent charges. Everything else heads toward the zone, Rhupert toughs up the Silverlines. The Stormlances head round the building on a heavy flank and poke into the zone, threatening charges next turn.  Stryker casts deflection, velocities himself forward and ends up behind a wall near the zone.

Round 2:

Legion: Time to do some damage! I upkeep refuge, drop Admonition.

I channeled my inner JVM by activating my Ravagore, casting its animus, boosting the hit and damage, then activating my Shepherd to remove the Fury. This netted me 3 dead Silverline on the right side of the line, one more on fire and a Scather template nicely placed between them and the flag.

The Angelius with no upkeeps aims and snipes a Silverline near the opposite end of the line, leaving a single one outside of base 2 base. My Angelius with Refuge then charges the now chargable Stormguard, easily smushes him, overtakes and buys and double boosts an attack on the Stormblade Captain, offing him too. Vayl activates next, walks closer to the flag and puts Admonition on to the Angel that is in charge range of the Silverline, to prevent retaliation. She then slaps it with her Oraculii and puts tenacity on both Angels. The Scythean runs to the right, in front of Vayl, to protect her from any craziness. The shredder gives her Tenacity and walks up. The 2nd Shepherd removes the fury from the aiming Angelius. The pot moves up and the Harrier charges a Stormlance, hitting it for 0 damage. Stupid little guy!

Cygnar: 

Arcane Shield is upkept, the Sliverline get their charge order and charge towards my lines, I admonition my Angelius away and the Silverline look sad. Rowdy toes into the zone, hoping he’ll get to counter charge at some point. Stryker too moves into the zone. Ragman and Rhupert hide behind the wall, and the Silverline get Tough again. The Stormlances Assault, one fighting the Harrier, another assaulting the Pot (woops!), 1 running and 2 going for shots on my Angelius. The Harrier manages to somehow survive, the pot gets oneshotted by a cranked damage roll, and Def 15 proves too much for the horsey knights. Overall, an unimpressive turn.

Round 3:

Legion: Feat turn! Woowoo!  I drop all my upkeeps. I start with the Ravagore. He toes into the zone, decides not to animus and fires at Ragman. He misses, the scatter lands on top of Ragman and Rhupert, and he boosts damage against them both. He kills Ragman and leaves Rhupert on 1 box. Sadpanda.

Vayl now feats. Purification removes Arcane Shield. She puts refuge on herself and advances 6″ towards the flag. She turns an Angelius into an Arc Node and fires an Icy Grip at Rowdy. Having hit with an attack, she refuges onto the Flag to dominate. She then puts a free Obliteration onto Rowdy, doing a couple of points. She puts Admonition back on one of the Angelii and Refuge on the other, paying for it. The Scythean (that I don’t want to commit yet) runs to the left of the flag, inbetween the Cygnar forces and her. As I have spare fury, Tenacity goes on both Angelius and herself. The Shredder puts Tenacity on the Ravagore.

Time to kill Rowdy. Angelius with Admonition charges, armour pierces him for about 15 damage, knocks out his buckler, then finishes. I was concerned about Fury at this point, as I’m only expecting to lose 1 beast and POW 14s at 2d6-5 aren’t great. The Angelius with Refuge now charges in, finishes Rowdy with a huge damage roll, then refuges back to his original spot. Sweet! I score 1.

Double(Armour)-Penetrated…

Cygnar: My opponent has lost Rowdy, most of his Silverline and Ragman. His only real hope lies in the Stormlances, and true to form they terrorise my flank. Two of them get in on the Ravagore, and he takes a bit of a beating, knocking out his Mind. Two of them get on the refuged Angelius but DEF 15 ARM 18 proves too much for them, and he leaves it uncrippled. The last horsey finishes off the Harrier ;(

The Sliverline pile in on the Refuged Angelius, and do very little of consequence. One of them, however, advances on the Admonitioned one, and I walk it away. In hindsight, this was a mistake, and I was definitely punished for it, as you’ll see now.

Time for Stryker! He activates and Feats, then overloads. He rolls 3-dice and gets +12 STR, then rolls 3 dice for damage and takes 12. At this point I consider myself to have won the game, as there is no way Stryker will survive against eVayl with 4 heavies left on the board, with so few boxes and soon to be zero focus. He walks into the Angelius and oneshots it, doing exactly 25 damage in a single hit, then Velocities back behind the wall. He toughs the Silverline with Rhupert, but doesn’t move him (Forgets?) and he explodes from the Scather he’s sitting in.

His feat goes off now, the Ravagore takes a few more points but POW 13 is weak against ARM 19 and they bounce. The Angelius takes a smattering of points as well. I go onto 2 points.

Round 4:

Legion: I decide here that I’ll finish the game out on Scenario. It’s one of the aspects of Warmachine Tournaments I dislike, but in round one it’s important to get strong tiebreakers off. That means farming Army Points and dragging the game out for another 3 turns, when I could win with a single spell to Stryker.

I spend the turn wiping out the Silverline with the Scythean, killing a couple of Stormlances with the Angelius and the Ravagore, and camping on 4 fury after putting Tenacity on everything.

I go to 3.

Cygnar: He swings around, finishes off the Angelius, but it’s endgame now. He can’t clear the Scythean and the Ravagore to start claiming points himself, he can’t get to the flag to contest. I go to 4.

Round 5:

Legion: I just end my turn, not wanting to drag it out for longer. I score a 5th control point and win the game.

Thoughts:


eVayl is a ballbreaker. This Theme Force is borderline unfair at 35 points, giving me not only the equivalent of 45 points, but it’s all tied up in stuff I’d be taking anyway. The bonus SPD and the +1 Roll to go first is just icing on the cake.

The amount of early damage I was able to put out, with no fear of retaliation, meant that I could happily sit my Warlock in a “dangerous” position and not be concerned about being killed. 4 Heavies simply proved too much meat for him to chew through, and I never felt as if I was in danger of losing the game at any point. I got some luck in that my opponent’s tough rolls were atrocious, and killing Rowdy before Positive Charging Stormguard could get to me was huge.

5-0 Scenario Win in Round 1 is a good way to start the day. Normally, I play for Assassination but this game I stuck to the plan and dominated all the way through.

Next time on Learning Legion: 

Well, that went on far longer than I thought. Unfortunately, all my electronics were dying at this point as well, so I didn’t get many photos. Next up will be Game 2 versus Circle.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

