Learning Legion – 35pts – List 2.

I ALMOST BEAT EHALEY.

Ahem.

Now that’s out the way, today i’ll be presenting my second list for an upcoming event (this Saturday 28th). It’s a 35 point Steamroller, which means 1 List required with a 2nd optional list. That’s cool, because it lets me mainline some 3Lylyth straight into my veins, and have a less-powerful, more skewy Warlock backing her up for problem matchups.

I chose eVayl. I amuse myself to no end.

Skew!

For those wondering, I chose eVayl because she’s incredible and you should just look at her spell list, her feat, her abilities and her Theme Force, shake your head, and sigh. I think she’s a strong contender for the top Warlock in the game, potentially the 4th top Warnoun (though that’s debatable) after Gaspy2, eHaley and Harby (/sadKhadortrombone).

My two lists are both Tier 4, Machination of Shadows Theme Forces. This means I get the following benefits:

  • Non-Character Solos gain AD.
  • +1 to the Starting Roll.
  • +2 SPD first turn for Warbeasts with Flight.
  • -1 point cost on heavies.

The requirements aren’t hugely restricting either, which is why this Theme Force probably accounts for 90% of eVayl lists out there. All you need to activate Tier 4 is 3 beasts (not heavies, just beasts) with Flight, 3 Heavies, and a spawning vessel. That’s like, a standard list anyway!

You can take all your great Legion heavies (including Typhon and Proteus should you wish) at a point reduction. You can take Legionnaires and Hex Hunters (and the Blackfrost Shard if you want), the Pot is required for the force, and you have support available to you in the Shepherd, Succubus and Spell Martyr.

I’m looking at two lists at the moment. I’ll go through both, just because I want to pad this thing full of words. Just be warned, it’s really hard to talk about eVayl because she’s super popular and has a lot of options in her playstyle, but her list is fairly “set”.

Without further much ado about nothing:

List 1:

Tiers: 4
Vayl, Consul of Everblight (*6pts)
* Harrier (2pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
Blighted Nyss Legionnaires (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
1 Spell Martyr (1pts)

Pretty standard 35 point eVayl list really. I’ve got the normal Tier Activators in a double Angel + Harrier. Full Legionnaires and full pot gives me some delicious jam (mmmm, jam) and some nice options playing pick’n’mix with my lesser beasties. This is the list I almost took out eHaley with, leaving her on 3hp before the Scenario Loss. I actually felt like I had a proper game against her!

Cycle Refuge + Admonition as required on Angelius 1 and 2, add in Occultation to flavour. Use the Ravagore + Shepherd to JVM all day (ding ding ding!). Legionnaires can hold down a zone, followed up by the big Pot of beast stew. It’s fairly standard and simple.

The only real debate I had with this list was whether to take a second Spell Martyr, or a second Shepherd. I decided that I wanted the second Shepherd, because I’m really bad at keeping Shepherds alive, and having a second one lets the first one do important things like charging Stormclads.

Practically a Mage Hunter Assassin… right?

List 2:

Tiers: 4
Vayl, Consul of Everblight (*6pts)
* Harrier (2pts)
* Shredder (2pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
* Scythean (8pts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)

Basically, drop the Legionnaires, a Spell Martyr and make the Pot into a Mini-pot, and bring a 4th Heavy.

This came about mainly because of the thought that at 35 points it’s better to be slightly/insanely skewed towards a single type of list, than a little bit balanced. If there are armies out there who can’t handle 4 Legion Heavies at 35 points, they sure as shit can’t handle them under eVayl with her ridiculous assassination threat, her hit and run playstyle and her obscene spell list. And I’m saving 4 points! If I don’t buy a Scythean I’m essentially losing money!

The list loses the Legos, which are an good zone holding unit with the pot, and replaces them with the Scythean, which is a great zone holding model at ARM 19 with Admonition. It means that anything POW 10-11 in my opponents army has few targets to shoot at efficiently (Shepherds, Vayl, Lessers and Pot). It’s also a lot more scary for Colossals, as there’s no list out there that’s going to kill 4 Heavies in one turn (hopefully!) and applying a Scythean + Angelius will do a lot of paaaaaaain.

Some people have been up in my bidniz about bringing a Shredder along when I have a pot.. Well, get out of my grill haters, get off my case, I like to have Tenacity Turn 1 without killing my own dudes ok?!?

Other possibilities include dropping the Harrier + Shredder for a Wang-beast Impregnatotron (Afflictor), but I’ve not put mine together yet and I really can’t be arsed. Ugh.. effort.

Which list?!?

I don’t know, I’ve got 2 more days to decide, leave me alone, you’re not my real dad.

I’m leaning towards List 2 at the moment. I like the 4 heavy skewfactor it brings, I like having a 3rd reach heavy about, and it adds a bit more punch to the list.

Expansion or how to steal JVM’s 50pt eVayl list in 1 easy step:

Tiers: 4
Vayl, Consul of Everblight (*6pts)
* Harrier (2pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Angelius (8pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
* Ravagore (9pts)
* Scythean (8pts)
Blighted Nyss Legionnaires (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
Spawning Vessel (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
1 Spell Martyr (1pts)

THIS LIST IS SO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD.

There is a reason that you will see this list 3-4 times at every major Convention.

Do I really need to go into detail? Double Ravagore, double Angelius, Scythean. All the way, across the sky. This tier list literally lets you have your big beast-filled cake and eat it with a smile on your face, because who doesn’t like playing 5points up on your opponent from Turn 1 with a Warlock with a bonkers spell list, great feat, and some of the best beasts in the game at her disposal?

Want to see the Messiah use it? Watch below.

Next up!

So, with my Casters decided, and the lists almost chosen, it’s time for the event! This Saturday I’ll be playing and hopefully by the end of the week I’ll have a full on write up:  every game I play, with thoughts, results, and tears, right here, just for you my adoring fan (hi Mum).

As always, I hope you enjoyed it and I’ll see you when I do!

PS. IF YOU ARE READING THIS AND GOING TO WICKLOW IT’S ALL LIES IGNORE IT.

5 thoughts on “Learning Legion – 35pts – List 2.

    • Actually, I’m not even joking… I’d add a third Angel to the second list for the Scythean and drop the Harrier for 2 spell martyrs.

      Having a tradable Angel is gold given how well the list trades anyway, and three Repulses makes it monstrous in scenario.

      • Part of the problem is I don’t own a third Angelius.

        However, I’m a big fan of having a Scythean available to me as a late game piece. He’s also less reliant on dice for damage output, and doesn’t tail off (boom) so much after the first hit. I also want him for killing Boomhowlers. As I don’t have a Jam unit myself, I can’t counter the Raspberry with the Strawberry, so I have to deal with them by chewing through. That means a Scythean slots in for his animoose.

        Also JVM only takes 2 Angels and he’s like… jesus.

Leave a Reply

