Martin’s Martial Martyrdom: Part 7 The ETC – Grand Finale

Top of the monring to y’alls. You didn’t really believe I’d write an article sooner than on thursday evening now, did you? Anyways, let’s wrap things up.

After loosing in the third round but to a very strong team our chances for decent placement were still good, so we were determined to play to the best of our abilities. We faced one of the teams from Leicester and I got to play their best player again, who happened to be running Cygnar. Our Legion and Circle both faced Cryx, with Circle playing on the hot table. Jaromir played against Protectorate.

My opponent had Kara Sloan and pStryker and I was feeling ok about the matchup and reached for Rasheth, expecting Stryker so my opponent surprised me with his choice of Sloan. The scenario was Process of Elimination. I faced:

 

Captain Kara Sloan (*6pts)
* Stormwall (19pts)
* Squire (2pts)
Arcane Tempest Gun Mages (Leader and 5 Grunts) (6pts)
* Arcane Tempest Gun Mage Officer (2pts)
Greygore Boomhowler & Co. (Boomhowler and 9 Grunts) (9pts)
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt (4pts)
Rangers (5pts)
Eiryss, Angel of Retribution (3pts)
Journeyman Warcaster (3pts)
Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator (1pts)
Taryn di la Rovissi (2pts)

 

I went second, my Gatormen went on the left side and my Titan blob was in the middle with Slingers on the right. Rasheth went behind the Titans. Boomhowlers took up the centre, the Stormwall was slightly to my right, the Gunmages hid behind the Boomhowlers and most of the support was around Kara who was more or less across the table from Rasheth.

The Cygnar army positined to start shooting next turn. I advanced and put up Paralytic Auras up. In the second turn the guns opened up. The Stormwall and Kara targeted the leading Bronzeback and did a few points of damage on boosted damage rolls despite the Aura. After their shooting was done I made my first mistake and underestimated the remaining small arms fire and Hyper Aggresively moved out of the Aura in an attempt to come for the Stormwall in my next turn. However the Bronzeback got kissed by Ayiana and then a barrage of Dead Eyed Boomhowlers and Holt’s pistols as well as Gunmages slowly added up point after point of damaged with a double six spike in between with the Junior delivering the killing blow if I remember correctly with his boosted hand cannon. So, that was unexpected… Yet I was confident, that once I engage the Gatormen and remaining titans will still be more than a match for all the shooty dudes. Eyriss was trying to sneak up on me on the far left side, so in my turn the Gatormen charged into the Boomhowlers took down some rangers and engaged Eyriss. The Sentry destroyed the objective in the right zone and was in charge range of the Stormwall who got Agonized for no focus. I killed Ayiana with the Drake’s Spray and got Rasheth into the Krea’s Aura and used his feat. I got too greedy and fired off a Breath of Corruption into a jumble of Gun Mages and Boomhowlers, which even scattered and didn’t do much damage, but cost me precious fury. I was left with two transfers.

Since I inexplicably advanced Rasheth a bit forward my opponent decided it was time for him to die. I got lucky on a free strike on Eyriss from behind a wall which hit her, so the Paralytic Aura stayed on the Krea. Kara got reloaded by the Gobber upkept Refuge on herself and went for it using her feat. Rasheth got hit by her for some 5 points and then maybe 3 more or so and I didn’t realize these were the biggest hits I was gonna get, so I didn’t transfer either of those. Next went the Stormwall, rolling 3 shots with each of his nipple guns. All his hits were boosted with the feat so everything hit except one of the big guns. Despite the damage rolls being only with one die and my armour was 16 against shooting, several shots did 1-2 points of damage and it started to add up. I transfered Sloan’s feat shot I think since now I saw that a 3-4 damage hit was as big as they were about to get. Next went Holt and again the single die damage rolls were high enough to do damage and by this time I think I had to use my last transfer to get rid of 2 damage and there were a few Dead Eyed Boomhowlers yet to shoot. However, again the junior wobbled forward and finished Rasheth off with his boosted hand cannon.

So Rasheth got shot to death… Yes, I didn’t see that one comming, however an important lesson and luckily something that couldn’t happen a second time, since I was able to hold on to more fury to have transfers ready and the caster kill was the only option left for my opponent. „Fortunately“ my loss had no effect on the outcome of the round, since only Martin managed to win, killing Terminus with his Archangel after his opponent admitted to have probably rolled the most Tough rolls in a game ever.

 

So we arrived at the last round tables only to face team Bazinga! with their notorious and nefarious captain James B-B-B-Brrrrown. As the proper captain he was, we were supposed to play each other. Even though this gentleman needs no introduction, there just miiight be one or two people not familiar with our history, so I’ll do a quick recap. I met James at the first Smogcon in 2012 where he happened to be my blind date for a doubles team tournament masters qualifier. We had a great time, steamrolling most opponents and remained great buddies ever since, despite his questionable (non)sense of humour. Next, we happened to face each other on opposing sides of the table at this year’s Irish Masters where my Tiberion played golf with his Coven’s Egregore, so James was looking for revenge and his eyes gleamed with bloodlust and malice (supported most probably by some cheap booze).

Team Bazinga still had their feat available, so I challenged James to heat up our table, yet he was reluctant to do so at first. When the roll determined the hot table to be our Retribution against their Cygnar, James decided to use the feat after all but instead of choosing the matchup he just went for a reroll! As fate would have it, the hot table fell to us. As usual, James had some fancy weird lists and presented me with pGaspy and a Venethrax TIER LIST! Venethrax! Of all the possible Cryx casters the one with Lamentation which Mordikaar really doesn’t appreciate. So I was actually a bit perplexed and undecided what to take. After urgings from Martin to play like I got a pair I eventually went for Mordikaar, since Into the Breach had no Killbox, so I could try and stay out of the Lamentation range. James‘ army looked something like this:

 

Lich Lord Venethrax (*6pts)
* Seether (8pts)
* Seether (8pts)
* Skarlock Thrall (2pts)
Black Ogrun Boarding Party (Leader and 4 Grunts) (6pts)
Bloodgorgers (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
Mechanithralls (Leader and 9 Grunts) (5pts)
* 1 Brute Thrall (1pts)
Mechanithralls (Leader and 9 Grunts) (5pts)
Necrosurgeon & 3 Stitch Thralls (2pts)
Necrosurgeon & 3 Stitch Thralls (2pts)
General Gerlak Slaughterborn (3pts)
Pistol Wraith (3pts)
Pistol Wraith (3pts)

 

This time I went first and set my Cetrati on course for the zone, followed by the Bronzeback. To their right were the Nihilators with the Drake and my support was in the middle as usual. Mordikaar started a bit back,since he wasn’t expected to advance too much. James had a wall in the center of the table in front of his deployment zone, so that was where Venethrax was headed. His Black Ogrun took the centre with the Bloodgorgers with the rest of the army deplyed symmetricaly, the bigger Mechanithralls on my left.

I ran and prepared my infantry for the alpha strike. James had to advance into my charge range in order to not get pushed back too far. So then in my second turn I charged in after spraying a bit with the Drake on one Seether. The Bloodgorgers took the brunt of the assault, but rolled some toughs and were kept standing by Gerlak. My Bloodrunners did their usuall jamming since the blighted trolls were easy to hit and living, so I shadowplayed to really clog up James’ frontline. My Cetrati went into shieldwall and entered the zone. I managed to get the Seether on the right side into the Agonizer’s no focus aura.

My feat was a real problem for James’ army so he mostly repositioned, put some models into the zone, feated defensively, shot a few of his Mechanithralls with Pistol Wraiths to create a smoke screen in front of my Cetrati and fell into his Camperthrax routine upkeeping Dragon Slayer and holding onto his focus. My feat bought me a second alphastrike practically and I took advantage of it. The Drake started the turn again spraying some Mechanithralls who piled onto my Nihilators creating A LOT of feat clouds and doing some damage on Gerlak himself. On the other side my Cetrati advanced into the clouds to get into the middle of the Zone and get into a really dominating position and killed some Necrosurgeon’s helpers and mechanithralls. Venethrax’ feat prooved to be really heavy skornergy with the Necrosurgeons, since it removed models from play so they couldn’t gather corpse tokens and it was in this turn that I caused the most casualties to James. Nihilators kept berserking in the middle of the Mechanithralls and I felled even Gerlak despite some tough rolls. I did some more damage on the right side Seether and kept the left one focusless with my Agonizer. In his turn James retaliated as best as he could, but his numbers were dwindling, yet Venethrax was reluctant to advance too far forward towards the Cetrati and the Bronzeback.

Even though James didn’t use Lamentation I kept Mordikaar mostly in the back and simply did my Revive routine. The Cetrati cleared most of the zone eventually with a charge against the Seether while my other units traded blows with the Black Ogrun and Mechanithralls whose ranks were getting boosted by the Necrosurgeon finally. James had to commit Venethrax into the fight, so there was no way he would drop Dragon Slayer. Cetrati are hard to kill though when you are still forced to camp and so I focused them on finishing off some last Black Ogrun. The Krea charged in to apply her defense debuff and kill one more Black Ogrun. Mordikaar even moved into the zone to start dominating. I was also clearing up the other side of the table, though some persistent Mechanithralls refused to die when in one round I missed maybe 3 or 4 Nihilators’ initial attacks. In a last show of defiance, Venethrax killed a Cetratus gaining line of sight to the Krea, easily despatching her off as well and reaving her fury, but due to my transfers a spell assassination was impossible. Since he was unable to contest the zone himself, the game ended with a scenario win for me with barely some 3 minutes left on the clock.

Since our Circle player lost his match against Legion, we could have lost the round if I didn’t win the Hot table, so it turned out that my game was again quite important.

Our 3-2 record was good enough for 9th place in the end and I managed to score the most controll points out of all the players at the event. I was very happy with the Mordikaar list and made new friends with ze eevil Germans (and the Belgian) The event was really enjoyable and I liked the possibility of bringing an multinational team so I plan on returning next year again.

This weekend I’m headed to the Czech Masters, visiting a completely unknown meta so this might eventually result in another battle report. Though as promised, before I dive into the EU Masters report I’d like to share my thoughts on some of the published WTC lists and comment on this “world meta” next week. So untill then, eat your vitamins, lash your underlings and for the love of God avoid listening to any further Irish drunkcasts!

One thought on “Martin’s Martial Martyrdom: Part 7 The ETC – Grand Finale

  1. Didn’t realise it was three minutes on the clock, good game and I really love Venny. Though I will have to get more time in with him, I like the list though it is limited in the two list format.

    As always a good game.

    James

Leave a Reply

