Its in the Blood #3: Grim2 List Revision

So in our previous one-sided conversation we covered the Grim2 list I have been playing with. I am extremely fond of that list but it’s not perfect. It is, after all, only an early draft. I am now almost ten games in with Grim2 and it’s time to start revising it. In this edition I will go over models I am considering dropping from the list and models that I think have a home in the sort of Grim2 list I am building. I have so far only been playing with the original draft of the list, as well as a 35 point version that drops the minions and Impaler, so I don’t have any proper play experience with my suggested inclusions. Instead this will be more of an outline for the testing I plan to do. In a similar vein the models I’m suggesting dropping might actually make it back in the list if testing shows that the list is actually worse without them.

Models to be Dropped!

Impaler: I’ve only actually played a handful of games with this guy since he got dropped from the 35 point list. So far I’ve found in those games that I don’t really miss not having Snipe on a stick. The Impaler still offers great ranged utility but I’m going to test other possible beasts to fill out the 3rd light spot before deciding if I want to make him permanent.

Bone Grinders: Also dropped from the 35 point list and so far I haven’t missed them. The +2” of range for Grim’s spells made it easier to also aim with him but he’s already RAT 10 against whatever he cast Mortality on so it’s not that big of a deal. I think there’s a better 2 point option out there.

Fell Caller: He’s 3 points for +2 to Burrowers Melee Attacks in this list. Nobody else wants the +2 to hit really since Scattergunners just Mirage out of melee if engaged. The +2 for Burrowers Melee Attacks is usually huge but in this list I find I’m shooting with them more and more so the Fell Caller does less and less. The stand up and pathfinder are nice utility but I’m not sure they’re worth the 3 points.

Gatormen: I absolutely love Gatormen and these guys will the the hardest to let go of but I need to make up some more points in this list to test other things and they have the least inherent synergy with the list. That’s sort of their job, models that don’t rely on support of any kind, but also means they get cut before Burrowers and Scattergunners. I considered cutting Sons of Bragg instead but those guys have seriously impressed me so far.

No! Don’t leave me! I take it all back!

Models to Play With!

Winter Troll: First up on the replacement Shooting-Light bandwagon! All of these guys will be 5 points, to fill the Impaler’s spot, and have a gun of some sort. Normally I’m opposed to turd polishing because you could always just make something good better instead but in this case the Winter Troll offers something unique: that Spray. RAT 4 really holds this guy back but Mortality and Grim’s Feat can really help fix that and a boostable SP 8 POW 12 (14 with Mortality) is pretty good once you mitigate that RAT problem. He also has some entertaining utility that becomes pretty decent once it’s attached to a not-terrible model. My early prediction is that despite this he still won’t make the final cut but I’m giving him his fair shot. The Winter Troll is up first because I just finished painting mine and I love Sprays.

Storm Troll: This guys is also full of utility and has an awesome gun. His Animus isn’t of as much use in this list because it can’t go on the Gatormen and most other models I have just shoot stuff but it’s a nice bit of utility to have. Certainly the Sons of Bragg can use it to generate some extra kills for them. The real reason to take him is his gun, though, and it’s an awesome gun. He adds some infantry clearing to the list which is always a plus but it might not be necessary in a list that already has 8 Sprays. Only testing will tell.

Pyre Troll: His Animus is the same as the Slag Trolls but with a different immunity so like my other choices I’m not considering him for that. Instead he is again being considered for his gun. This time it’s the AOE and Continuous Effect: Fire that I’m looking at. Mostly the Fire bit since the Storm Troll really offers more infantry clearing than an AOE. Setting enemy War-nouns on Fire is always good and with Grim’s feat this guy can reach out and touch some models that would usually be out of range without spending 2 Fury and taking another 5 point warbeast.

War Wagon: The War Wagon is a great mostly independent flanking force. Grim2 also has a lot to offer it in his Feat and Mortality. Boosting the Wagon’s accuracy makes it amazing and with Mortality it’s got a RAT 7 POW 18 gun which is not shabby at all. It also has a Spray and as I’ve established I love sprays. Knockdown on a big AOE also stacks really well with a shooting army as you can use it to either make your shots more accurate or remove models that were blocking LOS to your preferred target. I’m not sure where it fits in the list, though. 9 points is quite a bit and while I could swap it for the Gatormen I would be sacrificing some of the self-sufficiency I love the Gatormen for. Still, this isn’t called testing for nothing so we’ll see how it goes.

Bushwhackers: I really like the idea of these guys with Grim2. Grim2 offers an accuracy and damage buff which makes them a lot better but also when they become RNG 18 under the Feat they can reach out and touch some important enemy models. The real problem with them is finding space in the list for another shooting unit. Honestly without a new UA for these guys making them better I don’t see a spot for them in the list but at some stage I’ll be giving them a chance at impressing me.

That Whelp with the tiny spyglass is awesome though.

Krielstone + UA: There’s a school of thought that the Krielstone should be in basically every Troll list and I’m not sure it’s entirely wrong. The +2 ARM is brilliant obviously but the extra utility of immunity to continuous effects, removing incorporeal or +1 Strength is what makes it amazing. I would only take a minimum unit with the Elder because you don’t really need the larger aura made possible by the extra guys. The ARM buff is really just for Grim, his warbeasts, and the Sons of Bragg since none of the other models get up to a respectable ARM even with +2. Bonus is the fact that Mortality can make the Stone Scribes surprisingly dangerous which lots of people don’t see coming. Getting your support to do proper work is brilliant.

Champion Hero: This guy is the first of the options to fix the Burrowers command problems. I initially didn’t take a Commander for the Burrowers because with them mostly shooting I didn’t think it would be necessary. What I’ve found in my games is that shooting Burrowers are fine but generally flee the very next turn. Usually this wouldn’t bother me because they’re almost all dead but in a lot of my games the sheer amount of destruction Grim2 can achieve at range can severely limit your opponents ability to retaliate on your Burrowers. This leaves me with the unenviable situation of having most of my Burrowers still alive but running away so they can’t do anything. Obviously a Commander is necessary and the Champ Hero is the biggest Command 10 guy around.

Fennblade Kithkar: Same deal as the Champ Hero but one less Command and one point cheaper. Sadly not released yet though so not viable for competitive play until I know when he’ll be out.

Witch Doctor: Giving out Undead sorts out the Command problem pretty good too. Normally I’m not much of a fan of this guy in Trolls since Tough is redundant on our stuff so he’s 3 points for Undead. However, my list is also running Gatormen and granting Gatormen Tough is pretty good. He can also Sacrificial Strike a Gatormen for a POW 16 (18 with Mortality) auto-hitting damage roll to add to my current assassination potential. Having Gatormen in the list really makes him worth it in my mind so I’ll be trying this guy out first.

It’s all about that voodoo that he do so well.

Victor Pendrake: Some people on the forums have been talking this guy up and I’m interested to see how he does. The extra knockdown gun offers some interesting utility and Beast Lore applies to Spells as well as normal attacks so it can help save Grim fury or else make the Runebearer’s once per game ability a lot more accurate. His Bow is also a surprisingly good little single model remover since its RNG 12 POW 10 and he’s got RAT 6 with a re-roll. Some interesting utility. Also I’ve owned him for ages but never played him so there’s that.

Obviously I have far more things to test than I intend to remove from my list and some of the models I’m considering dropping are required to make other models I’m considering work so I’ll have to build a variety of lists and test them out. I have a pair of lists I’ll be testing to start with. This time I decided I would actually give both a 35 point and 50 point list since I’ve been playing a lot of 35 point games recently.

First up, the 35 point list:

Hunters Grim (*4pts)
* Slag Troll (6pts)
* Slag Troll (6pts)
* Winter Troll (5pts)
* Trollkin Runebearer (2pts)
Pyg Burrowers (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
Trollkin Scattergunners (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Trollkin Scattergunner Officer & Drummer (2pts)
Professor Victor Pendrake (2pts)
Stone Scribe Chronicler (2pts)
Trollkin Champion Hero (3pts)

In my previous 35 point list I found having only two light warbeasts a little unsettling so I dropped the Sons of Bragg for a 3rd warbeast and Victor Pendrake. The Fell Caller was swapped for the Champion Hero to see if my theory that a Commander is more important than Fell Calls is actually correct. The list also currently has no pathfinder which could be a problem but I’m hoping the guns, Mirage on Scattergunners and Burrowers burrowing shenanigans will help me get around terrain problems.

Obligatory Grim2 shot, for the fans.

At 50 points we end up with:

Hunters Grim (*4pts)
* Slag Troll (6pts)
* Slag Troll (6pts)
* Winter Troll (5pts)
* Trollkin Runebearer (2pts)
Gatormen Posse (Leader and 4 Grunts) (9pts)
Pyg Burrowers (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
Sons of Bragg (6pts)
Trollkin Scattergunners (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Trollkin Scattergunner Officer & Drummer (2pts)
Gatorman Witch Doctor (3pts)
Professor Victor Pendrake (2pts)
Stone Scribe Chronicler (2pts)

Not too many changes from the original list. I swapped one warbeast and changed some of the support for other models. I’m starting out small before I make any radical changes like swapping in KSB + War Wagon. That’s a project for a few weeks from now. First I’m off to a 35 point tournament on Saturday and I’m bringing that first Grim2 list along with me. Hopefully it goes well!

Stay strong my brothers and I’ll likely see you in two weeks time.

Leave a Reply

